top of page

Understanding the Basics of Astrology, the Houses, and the Planets

By: Gabriella Herran-Romero

Have you ever wondered what astrology is? How it works? And where you fall in line with it?

You might have wondered what the big deal is with astrology and why everyone is so obsessed with zodiac signs and reading about them. The truth is they help a lot with personal reflection. By looking into astrology, you can learn more about yourself and gain a better understanding of your personal strengths and weaknesses.

Here is an easy guide to help you understand the basics of astrology!

What is Astrology?

Astrology is the study of the movements of the sun, moon, planets, and stars and how their positions affect the character and lives of people.

What is a Birth Chart?

A birth chart maps the planets in their journey around the Sun when you were born. There are three parts to any birth chart; planet, sign, and house. In order to figure out what signs are in your Birth Chart, you need to know approximately three things: the time of your birth, where you were born, and your date of birth.

In order to get a Birth Chart, you can simply put your information on an app called “Co-Star,” which gives you daily horoscopes, your birth chart, and allows you to see the compatibility of your chart with your friends/family who also have the app.

First House: Ruled by Aries – This house shows how a person presents his or her personality to the rest of the world. It depicts the important aspects of your life; first impressions, your personality, appearance, temperament, ego, and your overall outlook towards life.

Second House: Ruled by Taurus – This house is strongly connected with possessions such as money, goods, property, and even the aspects of earning or accumulating more money. It represents how well you manage your finances as well as how much you value money.

Third House: Ruled by Gemini – This house represents all forms of communication such as thinking and talking. It also pertains to your relationship with the nearby environment via letters and phone calls.

Fourth House: Ruled by Cancer – This house includes your home environment, your parents, and anything related to your early days of childhood. Pertains mostly to domestic life.

Fifth House: Ruled by Leo – This house is considered the “fun” house as it is connected with creativity and pleasure. It governs your self-expression, leisure pursuits, and love affairs.

Sixth House: Ruled by Virgo – This house pertains to health and service. It depicts your fitness, diet, illnesses, hygiene, helpfulness, and your service to others.

Seventh House: Ruled by Libra – This house represents your partnerships and personal relationships you deem important. Its focus is not only on romantic relationships but also on business partnerships.

Eighth House: Ruled by Scorpio – This house focuses on your ability to share things, money and personal possessions, in particular. So any money matters such as wills, taxes, one’s partners, income, and assets.

Ninth House: Ruled by Sagittarius – This house represents your understanding of spiritual learning, ethics, and morals, foreign languages, luck, risk, adventure, and long-distance or international travel.

Tenth House: Ruled by Capricorn – This house concerns your career, status, and goals. It goes from telling you how to focus and choose the right career path, to developing your long term career goals, and finally helping you with your ego regarding status.

Eleventh House: Ruled by Aquarius – This house focuses on friendship. It represents your hopes, dreams, and aspirations for happiness as well as the roles you would like to take as a partner, friend, or a businessman/woman. It also rules anything having to do with the future.

Twelfth House: Ruled by Pisces – The last house represents self and one’s inner feelings, worries, psychological sufferings, and doubts. This house is full of negative influences, often foreshadowing ill health and weaknesses, although some positive influences, such as enlightenment, motivation, and healing can also be found here.

The Sun – It is your ego, motivation, interests, likes and dislikes, vitality, and how you express and identify yourself.

The Moon – It represents your intuition, instincts, habits, conscious mind, and what makes you feel comfortable and secure. It oversees how you express your emotions and share yourself with others.

Ascendant – It is how you present yourself to others, often referred to as the “mask” you present to others.

Mercury – It is how you communicate, talk, think, learn, and process information.

Venus – It is how you love, how you express your affection, and how you indicate what you are attracted to.

Mars – It is how you take action, express your anger, and it’s also your sex drive, so, what you desire for and give in a sexual relationship.

Jupiter – It is your philosophy and ideals upon life.

Saturn – It is about your responsibilities, restrictions, boundaries, limits, and fears. It describes your ambitions and your feelings of inadequacy.

Uranus – It is innovation, rebellion, and progress. It is where you seek freedom, what makes you want to rebel, and where you’ll find change.

Neptune – It is what inspires you and where you’re easily deceived. It rues dreams, imagination, and the unconscious.

Pluto – It represents where you feel powerless, where you want control, and getting rid of the old to make way for the new.

After a rundown of what astrology is, including how to interpret your birth chart and how to understand each house and planet, we soon can dive into discovering your personal zodiac sign!


What is your zodiac sign? Let us know on Instagram and Twitter!

Reach the writer on Instagram


bottom of page